Just a Little Late

I was going to write this yesterday, as I need some place to say such things, but then work was really long. Then I had other stuff to do. Then I fell asleep, since it had been one of those wear you slap out weeks. So it’s a little late. But I’m just wondering… where did the whole “Casual Friday” concept come into play. In my office, at least, people seem to use it as their excuse to wear whatever they grab from their dirty torn clothes drawer they find first. I work in an office that has rules about what we wear Monday through Friday, and “guidelines” for Friday wear. On non-casual days, men are supposed to wear either shirt, tie, and slacks or suits, and the usually do (not going to go into the unfortunate sweater choices I see) and women are supposed to wear dresses, blouses and skirts, blouses and dress trousers or skirted or pant suits. And I won’t mention the scary things that can come from that. But Fridays have me with a small dread… in theory it’s supposed to be just a slightly more relaxed day, but the clothes I’ve seen… a VP who had an important meeting that day coming in in grease stained jeans and an ill-fitting t-shirt that had a hole or two. The shlubbiest outfits I have ever seen fill my office Fridays. I feel like walking around singing that song from the How I Met Your Mother 100th episode, or at least the part where Barney sings “send casual Friday down the laundry chute”. And while we’re at it can I have that power he had during the musical number? You know, the one where he zaps their clothes into suits? I think it would be useful. And since I’m a Mad Men watcher, I every once in a while think when looking at someone… “Don Draper wouldn’t wear that to his office.” or “Joan wouldn’t get caught dead in that get up.” Mostly because I’m weird like that. Or maybe just because I’m weird. It runs in the family after all…

I know, there are some places where jeans and tees are the better uniform and that’s all good. And there are places where people aren’t really working in an office and can wear whatever, because they don’t have any worries, and I do get jealous of them sometimes. I mean shoot, I got in trouble once for wearing a dress that was an inch above my knee, but we’ll save that for another time. And yes, I have been guilty of breaking my office’s rule of wearing stockings or pantyhose during the summer because I have an incredible aversion to those things, especially in the summer. They might add a little extra warmth in the winter, but they’re just downright uncomfortable in the summer. But come on, let’s start dressing that one level up thing in these offices where it’s better to wear dress clothes… I’ve heard it can do great things… I’ll let you know if that last part ever pans out.

Leave a Reply

