Thanksgiving Food – Cornbread Stuffing Part 1

Happy day before Thanksgiving! Up above are all the cookbooks used at my house for the delicious meal. My mom is an awesome cook. And every year, I get to make one of my favorite parts (it’s been my favorite long before it became assigned to me to make) of this meal… the cornbread stuffing. It comes from a cookbook that I believe is called the Moosewood Lodge Cookbook (I’m not at home with all the books right now, I’ll check this for sure later); and is absolutely delicious. This morning I’ll be giving you the first, and most vital part of this recipe, the Cornbread.

Start with two eggs in a bowl.

Pour in a cup of buttermilk (okay, if you detest buttermilk you can use whole milk, but buttermilk really makes it that much better. And this is a savory cornbread stuffing, not a sweet one).

Pour in after that a 1/4 cup of cooking oil. And it’s important to use the same measuring cup you just poured the buttermilk in, after all, you’re lazy. Why rinse a cup out if it’s all going the same place anyhow?

Add a 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Stopping to admire the pretty purple on your nails. Painted on because it matched your top on Saturday night perfectly. And then was team-supporting on Sunday when you cheered on Joe Flacco, Ray Lewis, and all the other Ravens to a seriously awesome win. Then reflect that you’re also a Steelers fan at the same time, and wonder if you need help. Cooking is a process I tell you!

Once you’ve added all of those ingredients it’ll look like this. Then you want to whisk it together until it’s combined.

So it should look like this.

Now we’re going to sift some baking powder.

This is my mom’s sifter. She’s had it for years, since she got married. It was a wedding present with some other kitchen stuff. I call it a little vintage. It still works pretty good… a little faded, the cherries that were once bright red when I was a little girl are a little less red; but it’s a good sifter. Please note the tv on in the background. It is important to have Star Trek on in the background. It’s a classic Thanksgiving movie, did you know? The crew of the Enterprise is thankful that they defeated the Romulans, and I’m mighty thankful for Mighty Fine Chris Pine. See? Thanksgiving movie.

While measuring out the four teaspoons of baking powder, make sure to break the handle on the already broken teaspoon measurer. It makes things more fun, yay!

Whisk the four teaspoons of baking powder into the mix until it’s foamy.

Add in a cup of cornmeal (bad blur, I left my camera upstairs and was lazy, so I used my iPhone camera… didn’t always work well).

And a cup of flour. Then mix it all together until combined and thickened a little.

So it looks like this.

Next is an important step…

The pan. No, you don’t have to use your Mama’s (and Grandma’s before she gave it to your mom) cast iron skillet, but the skillet makes life better.

Pour it into a prepared pan. Greased, ready for action, all that stuff.

And pop it into a 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, or until you’ve inserted a toothpick and it comes out clean.

Your finished product should look something like this. Now let it cool, cover it with a towel so your dumb cat doesn’t think you’ve made it just for her, and let it set for a day… you want your cornbread a little stale for the stuffing. It just works better.

I’ll be back later to post the stuffing recipe! Once I’ve made the stuffing and all.

Disclaimer: I’ve never been to Moosewood Lodge, nor do they know me. I’m not affiliated with them, and I don’t have any ownership of this recipe. I just love it more than a lot of things and want others to experience the happiness that comes from Cornbread Stuffing.

Leave a Reply

