With a Change of Plans Comes Hurricane Irene

So I was supposed to leave for school a week ago, but because money problems are a bitch, here I am still at home in Maryland. And boy has it been a week. First, I experienced the first earthquake I’ve ever been awake for (we had one last year, but I slept right through the thing). And now I’ve got the adventure of Hurricane Irene bearing down on me. And I’ll tell you one thing, if bitch cuts my power during True Blood… well, I don’t know what I’ll do, but I’ll be pissed!

This is the first major hurricane Maryland has been threatened with in a long time. We’ve had a few ones make small landfall in my lifetime, but nothing like this. So what will I be doing this weekend? Why, taking advantage of course! I’ll be going over all of my 2011 September Issue magazines (InStyle, Glamour, Elle and of course, the big one, Vogue. Which I had to buy at the store because the U.S. Mail Service is taking for-frikking-ever to get my issue to me!). I’ll be working on some posts courtesy of Ricky’s NYC. And I’ll also be working on a post about Tresemme’s dry shampoo and waterless foam shampoo. Can’t promise that anything will get posted this weekend. I might get a power cut. Or I might get evacuated, God forbid. Plus I’m also working my way through the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. I admit it, the tv show (Game of Thrones, on HBO), brought me to the books, because I wanted more after the season ended. Those books suck you in and don’t let you out. And I’ll be eating and watching movies for as long as I can. And I may or may not have my fingers crossed that we’ll have the power cut at work for one reason or another… But I can neither confirm nor deny that.

But you know who I don’t envy? My sister. Who is camping this weekend. Poor kid. Hope they don’t get rained out. It’s rained out camping trips that made me hate camping.

So, everyone who is in Irene’s path, stay safe! If they tell you to evacuate, GTFO! And everyone who’s not in the path of the bitch, be glad. It’s gonna be one hell of a weekend.

3 thoughts on “With a Change of Plans Comes Hurricane Irene

Leave a Reply

