July Wrap Up and August TBR

Book Post Title PictureAlright, so made it through July and now into August! Where has summer gone? I only have a few weeks left before I have to start staying up late to study again, and not read just for fun. But it’s been a good summer.

So this month I didn’t read as many books as I did in June. But I read some good ones!

So for the Very Potter Summer I read The Order of the Phoenix and The Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling. I love Order of the Phoenix. There’s just so much awesome to me. And Luna Lovegood is introduced in this book, and I just kinda love her character. Plus, in this book we get the one character that everyone in the entire Harry Potter Fandom all hates: Dolores Umbridge. The bitch. I could rant, but we’ve all ranted about her. There isn’t much to add now. Although the part where Sirius falls through the Veil is just painful to read or watch in the movie every time. Don’t mind me, I’m just a sobbing mess over on the couch because of Sirius. And I’m pretty sure that in Half-Blood Prince, Harry proves himself to not be the brightest bulb on the chandelier. He can’t recognize the handwriting in a potions book after five years of looking at the same damn handwriting on a board in potions classes. And he completely forgets about the Room of Requirement until Dobby and Kreacher follow Malfoy into there. I mean, come on Harry! Good thing he’s friends with Hermione, she saves his ass more than he ever realizes. But I do like this book. Except for the part where Dumbledore has to drink the potion to get the fake horcrux and obviously all the scenes where Dumbledore has died. It’s just painful all over the place.

Now for the rest of the books. The first book I read was The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan. This series, guys. THIS. SERIES! Okay, it was wonderful to finally see Percy again and see him regain his memories all through. I loved how much he worked to regain his memories about Annabeth. I also really liked Frank and Hazel’s storylines, they were so interesting, Hazel’s especially. And I really liked seeing Camp Jupiter. It was an interesting place with a lot of differences from Camp Half Blood, although it obviously had some similarities. But did I get the Percabeth reunion I so desperately wanted? NO!!! So immediately upon finishing this book I read…

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. This book, you guys… oh good god THIS DAMN BOOK! I started it around 9pm on July 4, and finished it around 7pm on July 5. I could not stop reading it if I had tried. I loved that we started off with the Percabeth reunion I had been waiting for, I NEEDED THAT MOMENT LIKE I NEED AIR!!! And then moments after it happened, shit got real at Camp Jupiter and all the demigods on the ship, plus Percy, Frank, and Hazel had to haul ass out of there. I also loved seeing Hercules, and seeing a much different Hercules than what Disney showed me. Although I don’t care, I’ll always picture him like that. Just like Hades always has flaming blue hair. And it was so bad when Percy and Annabeth said goodbye in Rome, I got so nervous then. And then when the ship arrives to where Annabeth was, I realized there were far too many pages to have everything wrap up easily and have nothing major happen before the end of the book. And then Percy and Annabeth wouldn’t let go of each other and fell. And then I DIED!!! And then I huddled on the couch in a ball of misery for a while. And then I pre-ordered The House of Hades, so it will be on my doorstep the day it comes out.  And then, I fell into a reading slump.

I didn’t read the His Dark Materials series by Phillip Pullman because I was in the reading slump caused by Mark of Athena and couldn’t get more than a few pages in.

To ease the slump, I read Innocent in Death by J.D. Robb. Because I can count on J.D. Robb to break a slump for me. Although the killer in this book was just a little hard to read. It was sad and they were just so cold and not caring about the victims. It really was sucky. But the book was good. I loved Eve watching Mavis singing to her little Belle about “no more poopie”. That was just too funny. I really love all these books. Every time.

I also read Changeless, by Gail Carriger, the second of the Parasol Protectorate series. I really love these books. I’m gonna have to buy the set. And then start reading The Parasol Protectorate Abroad series. And The Finishing School series. But Alexia is awesome as the protagonist, and Lord Maccon is quite the good man. Mostly. This one kept me hooked because I wanted to know why the problems for the supes were happening. I liked getting to see Scotland and even a little of Maccon’s family. Although the “twist” at the end just felt slightly shoehorned into the book. AND I DIDN’T LIKE IT!!! Maccon had better stop being an idiot a few chapters into the next book. Because I like them together. But it was a good book.

I read The Selection by Kiera Cass as well. I’d been on the wait-list at the library for that one for a while, It was interesting. I always like to wonder where Maryland (my beloved state( is when I’m reading these dystopian series. Under the government? Under the sea? Rebels? But the world built in this one was both interesting and upsetting. How little they care for the lower castes, down to not giving them any forms of birth control and just letting them struggle after having lots of kids and not always being able to feed all of them. And the Selection idea, to boost morale… I just. Yeah. And Celeste was a psycho bitch. Demanding America take off her dress and hand it over. Ruining the other girl’s birthday party (sorry, forgot the girl’s name), what?! And Maxon seems sweet, much better than Aspen. Maybe a little/lot naive. Not sure how far his ideas to help the lower castes will go, but hey, if he really tries and keeps them going, that’s cool. I’ll read The Elite when I can, it should be interesting.

I read Stolen by Kelley Armstrong as well. The second in the Women of the Underworld series loaned to me by my friend Meera. And so very interesting. In the first book, we had Elena, a werewolf, as the protagonist, which was really cool. In this one, Elena is still the protagonist, but we also got to meet witches, sorcerers, demons, and vampires! So that was awesome. Elena getting captured wasn’t awesome, and the guy who had her captured, Tyrone Winsloe, just made my skin crawl. I had to keep reading to make sure she escaped from him and got him. And she did. I really love these books and love Meera for introducing me to them!

And for the last book of July, I finally finished The Maids of Misfortune by Louisa M. Locke. I was reading this from April to June. It was a good book, but it was incredibly detail-laden, which was what made it take so long. But since I didn’t guess immediately who was the murderer, and even was hoping it wouldn’t be certain characters (it wasn’t those characters, yay!), I really liked it. That was what kept me reading it, even if I had to take breaks. I wanted to know who had done it. And because there’s a continuing storyline I want to see play out, I’ll read the next book in the series. Soon.

8 August

 

So onto the August TBR! I’ll be reading The Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling, as the final installment of the Harry Potter series and the final installment in A Very Potter Summer. As always, excited to read it. Even with the painful moments I know lie ahead. Some deaths you just never get over.

I’m also going to be reading the Demigod Files and Demigod Diaries by Rick Riordan. BECAUSE I NEED A PERCY FIX, OKAY?! Can’t wait to see the short stories that are in here. I’m painfully waiting for House of Hades to come by reading Riordan books each month. Rick Riordan, your books are my crack. Can you rethink that whole no ARC thing for House of Hades? Please?

I’ll read Creation in Death by J.D. Robb, the 25th book in this series. And boy does it sound interesting. A killer that Eve was chasing when she was partnered with Feeney, who eluded them, is back ad most likely gunning for Eve and Roarke, with all the connections to Roarke Industries. Yeah, it’s gonna be good. Also, I saw a real-life Officer Trueheart at the Laurel fireworks the weekend after 4th of July. I was tempted to go set off fireworks in front of him. Because he really looked like Trueheart. And I love Troy Trueheart. And one of my co-workers saw me reading Innocent in Death in the elevator at the end of a workday and he asked about it, I recommended the series, saying while it was a Nora Roberts series, it wasn’t just romance. It’s futuristic crime drama! It’s awesome!

I plan to read Requiem, the final book in the Delirium series, by Lauren Oliver this month. I wanted to get to this in July, but thanks to that slump, I didn’t have the time for it. And I’m excited because this time we hear from Hana as well as Lena.  And also Alex is back, so there’s that bit of entertainment factor.

I’m also going to be reading Dime Store Magic, the third book in Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Underworld series. This one switches focus from Elena to Paige, a young witch who has become head of the American Coven of Witches, who we met in Stolen. She seemed like she could have an interesting story once given a chance, so it’ll be cool to see. Plus we get to see the struggles with Paige and Savannah, the little girl that they broke out of Winsloe’s compound when they went in to get him after Elena broke out. She was a very interesting character, with her darker forces of magic, so that should be cool too. I’ll probably be reading this one on the beach this weekend!

And I’ll be continuing A Breath of Snow and Ashes by Diana Gabaldon, as I haven’t gotten through all of it yet. Big book and reading slump don’t always work well. But I can’t wait to get back to Jamie and Claire!

So that’s this month! Let’s hope I don’t have issues like last month! And hopefully I’ll finish Deathly Hallows before August 14, which is the final day for it.

Leave a Reply

