January TBR

Book Post Title PictureSo yesterday I did my December Wrap Up, and today I’m doing my January TBR! For the month of January I’m planning to read 8 books, so let’s get to it!

January TBRThe first book I plan to read in January is The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan. The final book in the Kane Chronicles, Carter and Sadie are in their final battle with Apophis, the Chaos snake. They have only three days to fight him and restore Ma’at or else all is lost. With this they only have a few trainees from the Brooklyn House to help them, and divided magicians among all the nomes, as well as gods who are disappearing, and the ones who have not yet disappeared are weak. Hopefully they’ll find a way to fix everything and destroy Apophis. Can’t wait to jump into this one.

The next book I’ll be reading is Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers. Yes, I know, this one has been on my list for a while, so hopefully I’ll get to the awesome assassin Ismae and her world. This book looks really awesome, and I need to get on it so I can get to Dark Triumph soon, and Mortal Heart when it’s released!

I’m also going to try to read Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang by Chelsea Handler this month. Another book that has been on my list for a few months, I’ve gotta read this one. It looks like a quick, fun read so I really should get to it. Yeesh.

I plan to read Eona by Alison Goodman. After loving everything about Eon, I need to get to this one! Her secret is out and Eona is also now one of the only surviving Dragoneyes, as ten of the others were murdered in the last book. After the brother of the emperor who died in the first book staged a takeover of the title emperor, Eona is on the path to help Kygo, the son of the deceased emperor and rightful Pearl Emperor, to get his throne back. The only other surviving Dragoneye is Lord Ido, the Rat Dragoneye. This book promises to be at least as gripping as Eon was, and I can’t wait to see how everything plays out.

I’m going to read Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, the second book in the Lunar Chronicles. It looks like we get to rejoin Cinder about where the last book left off and see if she is able to escape from prison and get to Africa. Scarlet is “halfway around the world” from where Cinder is, and is hunting for her missing grandmother, making a deal with Wolf, who she doesn’t really trust to look for her. On the search, she runs into Cinder, and they all are running from the Lunar queen Levana, and trying to stay ahead of her to help Prince Kai.

While I’m still finishing Promises in Death by J.D. Robb (I started at the end of December and haven’t completed it yet), I’ll also be reading Kindred in Death. An NYPSD captain’s 16-year-old daughter has been horrifically murdered, and the captain has requested Eve to investigate the murder. Dallas investigates in her awesome, tough style to find who did it, looking for every clue and any bit of overconfidence that could lead the killer to make a mistake. It looks like it will be another awesome In Death book to read.

I want to read Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier, the second book in the Ruby Red trilogy. I’m not totally sure what’s going to happen in this book, but time traveling and mystery, I’m sure it will be awesome.

And finally I’ll be continuing on A Breath of Snow and Ashes by Diana Gabaldon. Written in My Own Heart’s Blood comes out June 10, and I still have to finish An Echo in the Bone, so I figure by the time my mom finishes WiMOHB, I’ll be just finishing Echo, and totally ready to read the last book.

I’m thinking of doing a post about my most anticipated books of 2014, so we’ll see if I can get my research done for that. I’d like to have those dates written down as well.

Leave a comment